Yvonne McFadden

*Online Book Launch* Gender and the European Town by Deborah Simonton, Wed 18th Jan, 2.30pm GMT

We are delighted to invite you to the book launch of WHS Committee member Prof Deborah Simonton’s Gender in the European Town on Wednesday 18 January 2023 at 2:30 GMT (3:30 CET, 4:30 EET). This event will be online via Zoom. Moving from the mid-seventeenth century to the near present, this book marks physical and conceptual changes across …

*Online Book Launch* Gender and the European Town by Deborah Simonton, Wed 18th Jan, 2.30pm GMT Read More »

Call for contributions to Quinepedia

Professors Sarah Pedersen and Peter Reid of Robert Gordon University are currently working on the construction of Quinepedia – a digital biographical dictionary focused on women in North-East Scotland.  The project has been stimulated by recent discussions in the Aberdeen Press & Journal around the lack of memorials to any women other than Queen Victoria in Aberdeen [Lack of …

Call for contributions to Quinepedia Read More »

Sue Innes Memorial Lecture 2021, Thursday 9 December, 2021 9am (GMT) – Catch up now!

The Sue Innes Memorial Lecture is held annually in memory of Sue Innes, feminist historian, campaigner and journalist, who died in 2005. Sue was an enthusiastic member of Women’s History Scotland (then known as Scottish Women’s History Network). She was one of the editors of The Biographical Dictionary of Scottish Women, which is dedicated to her. Sue was a …

Sue Innes Memorial Lecture 2021, Thursday 9 December, 2021 9am (GMT) – Catch up now! Read More »